01
Dec
10

Advented: Day One

On-going series, once a day until Christmas, offering as its treat a book, film, piece of music or other worthy experience. Check them out. It’s my gift to you.

Day one – The Muppet’s Christmas Carol

Gonzo's the greatestThe 1st of December is a special day. The child inside me delights as I flip the calendar page over to December, and I feel for the first time justified in getting excited about Christmas. It’s commonly the first day I do something overtly Christmassy and begin to get into that special festive spirit. And if you want to get into the Christmas spirit, there’s no better option than A Muppet’s Christmas Carol.

I think it is the film adaptation of A Christmas Carol most faithful to Dickens’ intentions for the overall message of his novel. This is a tale about redemption and self-discovery, and one which absolutely nails that mercurial thing, that special feeling of Christmas.

Funny enough for adults, charming enough for children, enchanting for everyone. The songs alone deserve a special mention, particularly It Feels Like Christmas which should be a festive hit all of its own. I can’t recommend this film highly enough. This will put you in the Christmas spirit.

Buy it, view it online, do whatever — but watch it. It’s my first gift to you.

1 Response to “Advented: Day One”


  1. 1 Jonathan
    December 6, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    This is also my favour christmas film I think 🙂


Leave a Reply

